The best women cyclist and the strongest Teams in the world are getting ready to fight for "Maglia Rosa"

Just more than one week standing between us and the official start of “Giro Rosa Iccrea”, the longest and most important stage ride for Women, into the calendar of U.C.I.  Women’s World Tour 2019.

Giro CS 2

144 athletes of the 24 best teams of the world are expected at the start of the competition directed by Mr. Giuseppe Rivolta. These include seven Italian Women teams (Valcar - Cylance Cycling, Alè - Cipollini, Aromitalia - Basso Bikes - Vaiano, Team Servetto - Piumate - Beltrami TSA, BePink, Eurotarget - Bianchi - Vittoria and G.S. Top Girls - Fassa Bortolo); four Dutch Women teams (Boels - Dolmans Cycling Team, CCC - Liv, Team Sunweb and Parkhotel Valkenburg); two German Women teams (Canyon // Sram Racing and WNT - Rotor Pro Cycling Team); two Spanish Women teams (Movistar Team Women and Bizkaia – Durango); two Danish Women teams (Team Virtu Cycling and Bigla); the Australian Women team Mitchelton – Scott; the American Women team Trek – Segafredo; the French Women team FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope; the Slovenian Women team BTC City Ljubljana; the Russian Women team Cogeas - Mettler Look Pro Cycling Team; the Belgian Women team Lotto - Soudal Ladies and the  Albanian Women team Conceria Zabri – Fanini, who is made for all by Italian riders. 

Among the cyclists who will compete and fight for the final “Maglia Rosa”, we find champions like the Dutch time trial World Champion Annemiek Van Vleuten (Mitchelton - Scott) who also won the last edition of “Giro Rosa”; Anna Van Der Breggen (Boels - Dolmans Cycling Team), Olympic and World Champion who won two times “Giro Rosa” in 2015 and 2017; the South African Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (CCC - Liv) second last year; the Australian Amanda Spratt (Mitchelton - Scott), vice World Champion who wore the Green Jersey last year and third also in the overall classification.
Other best riders to follow are Dutch Lucinda Brand (Team Sunweb), fourth in 2018, Polish Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Canyon // Sram Racing) second some weeks ago at “OVO Energy Women's Tour U.C.I. WWT”; Danish Cecilie Ludwig Uttrup (Bigla), so often in the top ten and sixth last year and the two Spanish Eider Merino Cortazar (Movistar Team Women) and Ane Santesteban Gonzalez (WNT - Rotor Pro Cycling Team). The most all-time winner among road, track and cyclo-cross Marianne Vos (CCC - Liv), Kirsten Wild (WNT - Rotor Pro Cycling Team), Jolien D’Hoore (Mitchelton - Scott), Elizabeth Deignan (Trek - Segafredo) who dominated the “OVO Energy Women's Tour”, and Amy Pieters (Boels - Dolmans Cycling Team), will try instead to win as more stages as they can.

For Italian Women riders, we remember Elisa Longo Borghini (Trek - Segafredo) from Ornavasso, second in 2017 and winner of the Blue Jersey last year; the never ended Tatiana Guderzo (BePink) third at the last UCI Road World Championships and third in 2010 and second in 2013 at “Giro Rosa”; Soraya Paladin (Alè - Cipollini) from Cimadolmo - Veneto, who stormed two stages at “Vuelta a Burgos 2019” and who’s doing an amazing season in these 2019; Erica Magnaldi (WNT - Rotor Pro Cycling Team) from Piemonte, thirteenth in 2018; Sofia Bertizzolo (Team Virtu Cycling) from Veneto, who won the youngest overall classification last year wearing the White Jersey and Alice Maria Arzuffi (Valcar - Cylance Cycling), for two times in the first ten positions during Giro Rosa 2018.
“Giro Rosa Iccrea” is made by ten stages (one team time trial, one individual time trial and eight normal stages) for a total of 920,4 km around Piemonte, Lombardia, Veneto and Friuli Venezia Giulia.

Five the jerseys to fight for: Maglia Rosa – Pink jersey (ICCREA) for the overall classifcation, Maglia Ciclamino – Cyclamen Jersey (Selle SMP) for the overall points classification, Maglia Verde – Green Jersey (Effebiquattro) for the overall G.P.M. classification, Maglia Bianca – White Jersey (KRU) for the overall best young classification, and Maglia Blu – Blue Jersey (GSG) for the overall best Italian classification.


1 Stage – Friday 5th July 2019 - Cassano Spinola-Castellania (18 Km – Team time trial)
2 Stage - Saturday 6th July 2019 - Viù-Viù (78,3 Km)
3 Stage - Sunday 7th July 2019 - Sagliano Micca-Piedicavallo (104,1 Km)
4 Stage – Monday 8th July 2019 - Lissone-Carate Brianza (100,1 Km)
5 Stage - Tuesday 9th July 2019 - Ponte in Valtellina-Passo Gavia (100,7 Km)
6 Stage - Wednesday 10th July 2019 - Chiuro-Teglio (12,1 Km – individual time trial)
7 Stage - Thursday 11st July 2019 - Cornedo Vicentino-San Giorgio di Perlena/Fara Vicentino (128,3 Km)
8 Stage - Friday 12nd July 2019 - Vittorio Veneto-Maniago (133,3 Km)
9 Stage - Saturday 13rd July  2019 - Gemona-Chiusaforte/Malga Montasio (125,5 Km)
10 Stage – Sunday 14th July 2019 - San Vito al Tagliamento-Udine (120 Km)


  • MAGLIA ROSA – PINK JERSEY (ICCREA): overall time classification
  • MAGLIA CICLAMINO – CYCLAMEN JERSEY (Selle SMP): overall points classification
  • MAGLIA VERDE- GREEN JERSEY (Effebiquattro): overall G.P.M. classification
  • MAGLIA BIANCA – WHITE JERSEY (KRU): overall best young classification
  • MAGLIA BLU- BLUE JERSEY (GSG): overall best Italian classification
Banner destra
Banner Giro Rosa sidebar

Discover the teams at the Giro Rosa Iccrea 2019

Find out more
CSS footer