Annemiek van Vleuten won the second stage of the Giro Rosa 2020 from Civitella Paganico to Arcidosso ahead of Anna Van Der Breggen and Katarzyna Niewiadoma, who arrived at the finish line with a delay of 1'16 ''. The Dutch world champion has literally dominated today's stage, also challenging bad luck and mechanical problems. The decisive attack on the second GPM of the day after several shots of the rivals. The last to surrender was Anna Van Der Breggen, who appeared in excellent condition. By virtue of this success, Annemiek Van Vleuten is the new pink jersey of the Giro Rosa 2020.

Spectacular stage, with an unpredictable outcome from the first kilometers, in the hilly area, after the start in Civitella Paganico at 12:10. The strong speed imposed by the favorite teams breaks the group into several sections. The first attempt of the day is by Julie Van De Velde of the Lotto Soudal team who remains at the head of the race for several kilometers, reaching a maximum advantage of one minute. when the platoon returns to the fugitive, the race explodes. Numerous attacks at the head of the group: Alena Amaliusik, Tayler Wiles, Vittoria Guazzini, Elizabeth Banks, Ilaria Sanguineti, Lisa Brennauer, Elise Chabbey, Alison Jackson, Ruth Winder and Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig.

A few seconds ahead but the group goes to close. Annemiek Van Vleuten attacks in the hardest part and takes off all rivals. Not even a puncture stops it. Anna Van Der Breggen must yield in the face of the domination of the compatriot who goes to win with arms raised at the finish line in Arcidosso.

Final classification
1) VAN VLEUTEN Annemiek Mitchelton-Scott 3:53:20
2) VAN DER BREGGEN Anna Boels - Dolmans Cycling Team 1:16
3) NIEWIADOMA Katarzyna Canyon SRAM Racing ''
4) LUDWIG Cecilie Uttrup FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope 1:29
5) MOOLMAN Ashleigh CCC - Liv 3:07
6) GARCÍA Mavi Alé BTC Ljubljana ,,
7) HARVEY Mikayla Équipe Paule Ka 3:11
8) PALADIN Soraya CCC – Liv 3:52
9) MAGNALDI Erica Ceratizit-WNT Pro Cycling 3:55
10) SPRATT Amanda Mitchelton-Scott 3:57

Rankings summary
-Annemiek Van Vleuten (Mitchelton-Scott) wears the pink Crediper jersey;
-Annemiek Van Vleuten (Mitchelton-Scott) wears the Selle Smp cyclamen jersey;
-Annemiek Van Vleuten (Mitchelton-Scott) wears the green Effebiquattro Milano jersey;
-Mikayla Harvey (Uci Bigla-Katusha) wears the white Gsg jersey

Banner destra
Banner Giro Rosa sidebar

Discover the teams at the Giro Rosa Iccrea 2019

Find out more
CSS footer