Elisa Longo Borghini, with a masterful action, won the eighth stage of the Giro Rosa 2020, the Giro of restart. It had been several days that Longo Borghini had been trying to attack, proving to have an enviable condition, today he made the most of his action, which began three kilometers from the finish. On the hard climb of San Marco la Catola, Elisa Longo Borghini brilliantly overtook the Dutch champion Anna Van Der Breggen and Mikayla Harvey, who finished third at the finish, proving that she fully deserves the white jersey of best youngster. Katarzyna Niewiadoma, who was wearing the pink jersey this morning after the retirement of Annemiek Van Vleuten, reached the finish line with a delay of 1'20 '' on the stage winner; the new pink jersey of the Giro is therefore Anna Van Der Breggen.

The stage, 91.5 kilometers in total, experienced the attack of nine athletes who tried to escape from the grip of the group, when the finish line was still far away, after several attempts. Let's talk about Lucy Kennedy, Katia Ragusa, Amy Pieters, Pauliena Rooijakkers, Jelena Eric, Coryn Rivera, Ruth Winder, Lisa Brennauer and Maria Novolodskaya, on the attack for the third consecutive day. The Giro is played there, these are the two final stages and the group cannot afford any distractions. In the final kilometers the attackers are caught and the women in the standings go to compete for the stage.

Elizabeth Deignan does an excellent job skimming the group and Elisa Longo Borghini tightly marks Anna Van Der Breggen when she sprints in the final to put Katarzyna Niewiadoma in trouble. The Dutchman manages to hit the pink jersey, not the stage victory. The two-man sprint rewards Elisa longo Borghini who returns to the podium exactly one week after winning the pink jersey in the team time trial in Grosseto. Now Longo Borghini is third in the general classification. The general classification is still very uncertain and an uncertain path like that of tomorrow could really give big surprises.

Stage classification 
1) LONGO BORGHINI Elisa Trek-Segafredo Women, 91.5 kilometers in 2:33:57
2) VAN DER BREGGEN Anna  Boels - Dolmans Cycling Team    ,,
3) HARVEY Mikayla   Équipe Paule Ka  0:31
4) AALERUD Katrine   Movistar Team 1:06
5) LUDWIG Cecilie Uttrup  FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope 1:19
6) NIEWIADOMA Katarzyna  Canyon SRAM Racing  ,,
7) ROOIJAKKERS Pauliena  CCC - Liv   ,,
8) LIPPERT Liane Team Sunweb  1:31
9) CAVALLI Marta  Valcar - Travel & Service  1:52
10) BERTIZZOLO Sofia CCC - Liv 1:58

Rankings summary:
- Anna Van Der Breggen (Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam) wears maglia rosa Crediper;
- Marianne Vos (CCC - Liv) wears maglia ciclamino Selle Smp;
- Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (Fdj Nouvelle - Aquitaine Futuroscope) wears maglia verde Effebiquattro Milano;
- Mikayla Harvey (UCI Bigla-Katusha) wears maglia bianca Gsg
Banner destra
Banner Giro Rosa sidebar

Discover the teams at the Giro Rosa Iccrea 2019

Find out more
CSS footer